Intro to Me . . .

24 10 2009

I am a 44-year old mom to three kids and a full-time attorney.

My husband was my high school sweetheart–we met when I was 14 and started dating when I turned 16.  We’ve been together ever since.  We got married 5 1/2 years after we started dating, January 10, 1987.  At the time I was working as a claims adjuster for an insurance company, handling workers’ compensation claims.

My office closed their Bay Area office and I was transferred down to Orange County in 1989.  In October 1992, I was hired to work as a law clerk for a workers’ compensation defense firm.  Within a couple of months, I realized that I could do what the attorneys were doing and started law school part-time at night.

After taking the bar exam, we got pregnant with my son.  He was born on New Year’s Day 1997–just 10 days before our tenth wedding anniversary.  At the time I was working for a plaintiff’s employment law attorney.  I stayed with that firm after passing the bar exam, until we realized we wanted to move back to the Bay Area and be closer to family.   We moved in March 1998 and I took a job with my current firm, again handling workers’ compensation cases.

Our first daughter was born in the Bay Area on June 12, 2001.  A year later, when my son was getting ready to start kindergarten, my husband quit his job to stay home with our kids.  It made sense since the costs for him to commute and the cost of increased daycare would have exceeded what he was making.  While initially people looked at him weird, they finally accepted the dad with the little girl who was hanging around the school yard.

Almost four years ago we moved to Redding, CA.  I transfered with my firm and continue to handle workers’ compensation cases for defendants.  Our third child, and second girl, was born on May 26, 2006, approximately five months after moving.    My husband still stays home with our kids.

I plan on using this blog as a place to write about life as a mom and as an attorney.  It isn’t always a perfect life, and I have a tendency to vent occasionally, but that is what this is all about.  Me and my life and my feelings.  Sit back, relax, and if you want, enjoy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

